Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Matthew tutors in Houston, TX

Matthew S.

Private tutor in Houston, TX

Matthew S.516

16 reviews

Education

American University - Bachelors, Political Science, Minor in Marketing , South Texas College of law - Masters, Juris Doctor

Experience

My tutoring philosophy is that a student receives the best tutoring experience when that tutoring plan focuses on the student's individual needs. I meet with my students to first identify their individual learning style, their personality, and their educational goals. Once I have that information, I create a tailored plan around their needs so they achieve academic success quickly and efficiently. I have experience tutoring students from as early as my high school days, offering classroom support to teachers by working with students on an individual basis. I've helped students with American History, Pre-Algebra, Algebra 1 and 2, Social Studies, Elementary and Middle School Math, and Finite Mathematics. I also tutor students in AP History and Government and Politics courses, and Law courses.My credentials include a bachelor's degree from American University, where I focused on Political Science and minored in Marketing. I continued my academic career by completing a Juris Doctor at South Texas College of Law, where I graduated with Latin Honors since I was in the top 20% of the class.When I take a step outside the world of academia, I spend my time with my family, friends, and our family dog, Yogi. I like to watch baseball, golf, and football, but I also like to play many types of sports, including golf and volleyball.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Baseball, Golf, Volleyball, Skiing, spending time with my family and dog, watching sports

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!