Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Carlos tutors in Houston, TX

Carlos M.

Private tutor in Houston, TX


I graduated Summa Cum Laude with two degrees from the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP): -Bachelor of Arts in English & American Literature (GPA: 4.0) -Bachelor of Science in Computer Science (GPA: 3.92) -Minors: Spanish, Religious Studies, Mathematics -Cumulative GPA: 3.92/4.0 You can view my LinkedIn profile here:


PLEASE SEND ME A MESSAGE THROUGH MY TUTOR PROFILE by clicking on the "Send this Tutor a Message" button so that you can leave me a review after tutoring. You will receive an email that contains your account login after you send a message to your first tutor through his profile (CHECK YOUR SPAM FOLDER as well for an email from Your feedback is very important! Thank you! I was a tutor at the UTEP University Writing Center for over two years, and was fortunate enough to win Tutor of the Year for 2011-2012. I've helped students (individually and in groups) conduct research and pre-write, revise, edit, and proofread presentations, resumes, letters, personal statements, theses, dissertations, publications, and papers from every academic field. I am also bilingual (English and Spanish) and have helped many ESL/ESOL students write in standard English. I'm very familiar with formatting styles (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.) and do online tutoring as well. I have also given lectures on grammar and composition to college freshmen. I've been exposed to and have a good grasp of many diverse subjects such as English and Spanish composition and grammar, business writing, editing, rhetoric, physics, calculus, and more. -------------------------------- Relevant Courses I've Taken -------------------------------- Computer Science: Intro to Computer Science Elementary Data Structures/Algorithms Data Structures Advanced Object-Oriented Programming Design and Implementation of Programming Languages Computer Architecture I: Basic Computer Organization and Design Computer Architecture II: Advanced Computer Design and Implementation Digital Systems Design Automata, Computability, and Formal Languages Database Management Theory of Operating Systems Computer Security Software Engineering: Requirements Engineering Software Engineering: Design and Implementation Math: Probability and Statistics Physics: Fields & Waves Physics: Introductory Mechanics Astronomy Discrete Math Calculus I and II Matrix Algebra Numerical Analysis Writing & Languages: Document Design & Editing Business Writing Intellectual Property Advanced Composition & Rhetoric Advanced Spanish Composition Structure of Spanish Accelerated Greek and Latin -------------------------------- As for my tutoring method, I try to be quick but thorough, emphasize both theory and practice, and use a personalized approach for each student. Normally my sessions are about an hour or two, depending on how much help the student requires. I do recognize that each student has different needs, so I adapt my methods to match my student. I tend to use a laptop, so an Internet connection is very helpful, particularly for directing students to relevant resources. I walk students through with whatever they need help on, step by step if necessary, making sure that they understand everything to bring them one step closer to mastery. I make sure that students have a solid conceptual grasp of the theory behind the subject in addition to teaching them the best possible practice. My ultimate goal is for students to understand the subject well enough so that they no longer need my help. In addition, if you need help with any kind of editing or formatting, I'm very familiar with MS Word and Publisher, know how to design documents, and have helped many students revise, edit, and proofread resumes, scholarship applications, theses, dissertations, and other publications, so don't hesitate to contact me.

Subject Expertise


Saturday in the morning, Saturday in the afternoon

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge


I love spending time with my wife and son, reading good books (the Bible in particular), and working out. I'm a lifelong learner who loves to study philosophy, religion, history, programming, writing, science, humanities, literature, apologetics, and theology.

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!