Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Brandy tutors in Houston, TX

Brandy H.

Private tutor in Houston, TX

Education

Converse College - Bachelor in Arts, Mathematics / English , Clemson University - Master of Science, Mathematical Sciences

Experience

I earned my BA in Mathematics and English with a minor in computer science from Converse College and my MS in Mathematical Sciences from Clemson University. As an undergraduate I was able to tutor other students and in graduate school I became a teaching and research assistant and eventually earned the recognition of being a graduate teacher of record.After graduating I began teaching math courses at the collegiate level as well as mentoring and tutoring students of all ages. While my primary educational focus is on math and computer sciences I also have a love of English and have had the opportunity to work with elementary students who struggle with reading for almost a decade. I have found the primary task of a tutor is to change the student's attitude about the subject with which they are struggling. I do this by taking the time to get to know the students and giving them the tools they need to understand the material so they are able to feel a since of accomplishment. Some of the subjects I tutor include algebra 1 & 2, calculus 1-3, differential equations, geometry, elementary and middle school math, statistics, trigonometry, reading, writing, phonics, essay writing and editing, grammar mechanics, literature, computer science, competition math, multivariable calculus, AP courses, IP courses, study skills and organization, public speaking, and Java.When I'm not teaching I enjoy walking, reading, yoga, and listening to music.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

reading, walking, yoga, music & movies

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!